Whether ordered to pay child support or ordered to receive it, RGP can assist you.
The court can order that one or both parents provide child support as ordered:
- until the child is 18 years of age or until graduation from high school, whichever occurs later;
- until the child is emancipated through marriage, through removal of the disabilities of minority by court order, or by other operation of law;
- until the death of the child; or
- if the child is disabled as defined in this chapter, for an indefinite period.
Texas law provides basic guidelines for the amount of child support that a court should order. If your monthly net income is $8,550.00 or less, child support is calculated as follows:
- 1 Child – 20% of net income
- 2 Children – 25% of net income
- 3 Children – 30% of net income
- 4 Children – 35% of net income
- 5 Children – 40% of net income
- 6 or more children – not less than 40% of net income
If the parent paying support has children in other households that they are supporting, that will alter the applicable percentages.
The court may depart from these guidelines, either above or below, if the court deems appropriate based on the needs of the child or the financial obligations of the parent. Factors such as a child’s disability may be considered by the court in awarding child support beyond a child’s eighteenth birthday.
To understand how Texas child support law will affect you, contact RGP today for a consultation.